Winter-Weather Fun at Hobby Lobby

The recent cold temperatures have kept Little G and me indoors more than we like to be. So, I’ve been trying to think of some new inside-the-house activities to keep us entertained. DSCN5418

On Tuesday morning, we went to our music class. Little G loved clapping along to “If You’re Happy and You Know It,” shaking her sillies out, and tapping her sticks in the air with a one, two, three. When the class ended, it was about 10:30 a.m. Little G looked at me and said, “What are we doing now, Mom?”

What indeed. My favorite activity, any time of the day, is a coffee break. One of my favorite local bakeries was across the street. But Little G had already had her fair share of baked goodies the past few days. And to be fair, so had I. So instead, we stopped at Hobby Lobby, in search of some winter-weather fun.

Moms of toddlers can appreciate this store’s wide selection of arts and crafts, from paints to cookie-making kits to origami. There’s even pink and blue hair chalk. 🙂

That morning, Little G and I wandered over to the Clearance section. Little G spied some discounted stamps: a little girl like herself, and a half-eaten apple with the slogan, “Apple-Tite for Life.” Ha, ha—I got it. And we got the stamps, along with two “My 1st ColorBox Child Safe Ink Pads.” My daughter was delighted. When we got home, she loved playing with her new winter-weather fun.

Some other ideas for where to find take-home entertainment include the children’s section at “everyday value” stores such as HomeGoods and Stein Mart, bookstores, and toy stores. Here in San Antonio, I love the locally owned and operated Toy Werks. Another local toy store with lots to offer is Toy Zone.

Have fun this winter, friends!

Leave a Reply

