Some Mornings Are a Pick 3

2_Some Mornings Are a Pick 3Do you play the lottery? If you do, then you may be familiar with the “Pick 3.” Here in Texas, the Pick 3 “offers a 50-cent play, six days a week, and a top prize of $500 (on a $1 play)”—just pick three single-digit numbers and how you want to play them.

Now, I’m not much of a lottery player, but I do feel as though I play the Pick 3 some mornings. Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays to be exact, when my hubby, Little G, and I are all hustling to get out the door by 7:30 a.m. Stanton to work, Little G to preschool, and me to—well, if you asked my daughter, she would either (a) simply stare at you, or (b) say, “write stories.” “Write stories” it is, friends.

On these mornings, I have time to pick three of the following:

  • Take a shower.
  • Get dressed.
  • Drink coffee.
  • Eat breakfast.
  • Brush teeth.
  • Check and respond to e-mails.
  • Clean up the kitchen.

Three things. Not one more. And the three things I always pick are the first ones: (1) shower, (2) clothes, and (3) coffee.

Because, breakfast? Well, that’s what tote-friendly granola bars are for. And toothbrushes and toothpaste can travel, too.

E-mails? Easy to do from my phone on the go.

Meanwhile … clean up the kitchen? Simply put: Not a priority. 🙂

When you have to pick, what do you choose?

4 Comments

  1. You are so much more efficient than I was when M was little. I did none of the above. I wore PJs that could pass for exercise wear so I could pop in the car and drive her to school. I sometimes got to do some of the other stuff when I got home depending on how many phone calls I had to deal with when I got home. Loved the blog. Being a mom is hard work with the most wonderful rewards.

    Reply

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your note, Mrs. M., and also for being the very first person to comment on my new website! I sincerely appreciate your positive and encouraging feedback. I like to stay in my PJ’s on Tuesday and Thursday mornings 🙂 And I completely agree with you that being a mom is hard work, but the rewards do make it worth it! Have a great day, Mrs. M.

    Reply

  3. Your website looks great! And I can totally relate to this, although I don’t accomplish as much as you! If I can get the girls dressed, fed, and out the door most of the stuff I need to do doesn’t happen. I often make a cup of coffee and don’t have a chance to drink it. I hardly ever shower before school (!!)…or eat breakfast!

    Reply

  4. Thank you so much for your kind note about my website, Haeley, and for your thoughts, too! I’m sure I’ll be less accomplished in the morning once I have two girls, too 🙂 Talk with you soon, friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

