Mom, Do You Know Where You’re Going?

Stanton, the girls and I have called New York “home” for about a month now. We’re starting to feel settled in our new hometown, as I shared here. And I’ve loved digging into the local food scene.

Something I’m still working on, though, is getting to know my way around.

1_welcome-to-new-york

Following directions—especially driving directions—is not my strongest skill. Luckily, my phone has Google Maps. Unfortunately, the mapping service has been hit-or-miss for me lately.

Thus, the girls and I have found ourselves on some adventures here in the Capital Region.

2_yield-sign

Our detours have taken us off the beaten path at times. We’ve come across beautiful scenery we may not have discovered otherwise—a field of wildflowers; horses grazing behind white fences; serene mountain ridges.

3_outside-view

Anna even found a mermaid. 😉

4_mermaid

I’m lucky that the girls are patient with me as I reenter our destination into Google Maps, or try Waze, or call Stanton, or roll down the window to ask a passerby where in the world we are.

Recently, the girls and I successfully found our latest destination: Stuyvesant Plaza. We loved walking and window-shopping. The girls threw pennies in a fountain and made their penny wishes.

I overheard Grace’s: “I wish Mom will let me watch TV all day someday.” Keep wishing, girl. 🙂

5_stuyvesant-plaza

We ran into some trouble on our return route home. The Albany area has a lot of traffic circles, which I’m still getting used to. On this particular one, I exited right too soon.

I drove a bit; nothing looked familiar. “Hmm,” I said. I pulled over and glanced at my phone.

“Mom, it’s really pretty here,” Grace said, tapping on her window. Anna began tapping on her window too.

“Mm-hmm,” I said, as our new route home came up in my phone.

“Mom, do you know where you’re going?” Grace said this time. She asked the question patiently, but I also heard some worry in her 5-year-old voice.

Do you know where you’re going?

Sometimes, the answer to that question is, “No.” And that’s OK. One thing I’ve learned during these past few weeks is that eventually, you will get there.

Another lesson learned: Make the most of the detours.

“I know now,” I told Grace. “I was a little lost, but I figured it out. I’m sorry it’s taking a long time.”

Grace said it was OK, and repeated that it was really pretty here on our diversion.

“Yes, it’s great,” I agreed.

Every moment means something, even when we don’t know what or why. Enjoy the journey, friends.

6_bench

+

Like what you just read? Then check out Melissa Leddy’s newest short fiction e-book, “This Is Just a Story.” Fun, timely and thought-provoking.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

